Start 2014 with “Yes”

By faith Abraham, when called to go to a place he would later receive as his inheritance, obeyed and went, even though he did not know where he was going. – Hebrews 11:8

Use what you have now, until you have more to use later. So often we talk about wanting to be used by God. We want to be a blessing BUT______ – this is where a good thing turns bad and we focus on the circumstances that prohibit us from being able to do this thing OUR way (not God’s way). 

I want to open our home for dinners BUT – Our house is too small to fit everyone comfortably. I don’t have enough dishes for the number of people I want to invite. I only know how to cook like two things. I don’t want to wash all those dishes. I’m not the neatest person (they would gawk at all the clutter). Plus, the kids go to bed by 8 and we can’t throw off the routine)…..

I want to start that ministry BUT – I need my job to pay the bills. I don’t have a degree. I don’t really know if I’m that passionate about this thing. Once I start people will begin to expect me to do this thing all the time. I don’t think I’m ready to be “that” person. My family will think I’m crazy. How will I cover our expenses. We would have to sacrifice somethings, cut back here and there and my kids can’t miss out on their activities….

I want to get connected to a local church BUT – Those people are weird. I don’t have anything to wear. I don’t know where to start. I don’t have a Bible. I don’t want to start and then stop again. I need to quit smoking (drinking, partying, lying, stealing….) first….

I really want to be used by God to do things that impact the community around me BUT if I can’t do this thing my way, there’s no point in starting it at all.

One thing is for sure, we have become really good at talking ourselves out of what God is leading us to do. Well I know I have. Here’s what helps me. When I see myself beginning to build a list of why this thing won’t work, or why now isn’t the best time, I stop and ask, “Are you sure this is God asking you to do this?”. If the answer is  “yes” then I remind myself that He is fully aware of my current situation and what the future looks like and if He still thinks that now is the best time to get this thing popping then I guess I better get moving.

We don’t have to have all of the details figured out, we just have to trust in the God who does. Start with a “yes” and He will show you how to do the rest.

Do not say to your neighbor, Go, and come again; and tomorrow I will give it. —Proverbs 3:28

What is that one thing you feel God pressing you to do? Listening to only Christian music, reading your Bible daily, donating your time to local ministries, starting a business…? Make a list of all of the reasons why now is NOT the best time to do it. NOW TEAR THAT LIST UP! Let’s make 2014 the year that we choose to say “yes” to God. It starts today.

6 thoughts on “Start 2014 with “Yes”

  1. Pingback: Saying yes to church planting | Illuminated Salt

Questions...Comments...