New Series…

0001xH

A while ago I was having a conversation with a good friend of mine about the advice we would give to our younger selves. As we  prepare to leave our twenties behind there is some wisdom we have picked up along the way that would have been very helpful to know when we were say, 19. If experience is the best teacher than between the two of us we have sat in on some MasterClass lessons that I think should be passed on to you.

Maybe you will read these and shake your head in agreement, wishing you knew earlier in life too. Or maybe you will be able to take something and apply it to your life now allowing you to test out of that class early. If so, praise God! If not, don’t worry… experience really is the best teacher.

Over the next few weeks I will share with you what we discussed in a series called “Dear Arial”. So stay tuned…

Join In:

– What piece of advice would you give to your younger self? Share it in the comments section below.

12 thoughts on “New Series…

  1. I would say.. Relax, God’s got this! Really He does.. and then I’d take a real good nap and enjoy every moment that does not grieve his heart. I would’ve lived more and probably saved all that clubbing money..smh

  2. I would say.. Relax, God’s got this! Really He does.. and then I’d take a real good nap and enjoy moment that does not grieve his heart. I would’ve lived more and probably saved all that clubbing money..smh

  3. I’m still young and have a lot to continue learning but I’d say:

    1- surrender your insecurities to Christ, allowing Him to REALLY root them out and build you up as a secure young man or woman. (I’ve seen insecurity and it is not pretty, I’ve dealt with it myself and it is NOT pretty!!)

    2- don’t try to figure your life out on your own… Seek God, surrender to Christ and allow him to remake you. It is a journey, but one WORTH every second.

    3- don’t be in a rush to get married or always looking to be in a relationship. I’ve been single now for 3.5-4yrs and they have been some of the greatest years of my life– Live IN the Season God has you in, because it truly is ONLY a season… So when it’s over there is no going back. Be patient in marriage- there is no going back. When we rush and try to control who we marry rather than allowing Gods hand to develop it we frequently if not always mess It up.

    • Good one. Sometimes it’s easier to give love to others than it is to first give it to ourselves. We love because God loved us first (1 John 4:19) and if God can love us, surely we can love ourselves. 🙂

  4. Ah! I’ve been wanting to write letters to my younger self for a few weeks now! Thanks for the inspiration!
    One piece of advice I would give to my younger self: Forgiveness is freedom.

Questions...Comments...