A Heart for Hampton Pt3

We are in the last leg of the final stretch of church planting. Only one day stands between us and the launch of The Bridge Church. That day, Saturday, is going to be one of rest and celebration. As I look back over the past 12 months I am in awe of God and how He brought this entire thing together. In September of last year the idea of planting a church was an interruption in our plans. It wasn’t something we had ever seriously considered before nor was Hampton the location of choice. But we were crazy enough to listen to God and more importantly to follow Him and our lives will never be the same because of it.

I am forever thankful for the association that we are apart of. It is because of ARC that we were able to make it to this point. Without their encouragement, guidance and training I honesty don’t know how we would have done it. I am also thankful for the other church planter wives that God placed in my circle. Their collective wealth of knowledge and experience helped me to navigate through many obstacles and emotional breakdowns. I pray that one day I can be there for them as they have been there for me.

Never before have I felt like a part of a community in the way I do now. With ARC my husband and I are a part of a network of other churches and pastors who are as passionate about seeing a life-giving church in every community as we are. They are a group of crazy, God loving people and we fit right in. And with the team that has helped plant The Bridge we are a part of a local community of folks who love the Lord and are trying their best to please Him. Our launch team was truely God sent. With the God-sized vision we had there was no way we could have done it alone. Each of them were right there with us and their buy-in brought encouragement to us in times when we were questioning our choices. Everyone of them will always have a special place in my heart and I am excited to see the fruit of all of this faith stretching God has done in your lives this year.

This week I heard someone mention a scripture that I think ties all of my thoughts together…

Yet this I call to mind and therefore I have hope: 22 Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed, for his compassions never fail. 23 They are new every morning; great is your faithfulness. – Lamentations 3:21-23

I know times will come when I will once again question whether or not God can get me through the current situation. Doubt will creep in and worry will knock at the door. But because of this journey we have taken, I will be armed with story after story of how God did it before and is capable of doing it again. Proof and ammunition all rolled into one fatal blow to the enemy.

The same is true for you. God didn’t pick Edwin and I because we are super Christians or have any special powers. He chose us because even with all of our flaws we were, in His eyes, perfect for the job. What job has He chosen you to do? Whatever it is, I encourage you to do it. Stricken with doubt and fear? Let the story of The Bridge provide the courage you need to push through it all!

 

Questions...Comments...